Explosion

Early yesterday morning an arsonist made a mess of torching a taco restaurant and blew up several businesses, badly burning himself in the process.  Half a dozen stores were damaged on West Broadway, just past Cambie.  Two were destroyed.  An office above them was also damaged.  Across the street, the windows of the London Drugs that supplied just about every thing I use in my apartment were blown in.  Most of the block is now boarded up.

I heard about it on the early evening news, just before I headed out to a seminar at Biz Books, a book store for the entertainment industry.  I’d spent the morning teaching online then reading and responding to all the comments on this blog and the de-conversion blog I posted on.

The number of readers I get has soared this week.  I wasn’t quite ready for it.  I almost doubled my previous best day.  Then I almost tripled it.  Then I did triple it, and today was quadruple.  I’m a hit!  This week’s total is already more than last month,  my first month, and I thought I wasn’t doing too badly before.

There’s a downside to the new attention, however.  It takes up a lot of time and energy, and many of the commenters on the de-conversion site are rather logically challenged Christian zealots who ramble all over the place and change the subject in desperate attempts to prove the bible is THE TRUTH, and the only truth.  I wasted my time responding to people who seemed so naive I wondered if they were children.  Maybe they are, or maybe they’re seminary students practising on me.  Hey!  I get paid for that and these guys are using me for free!  They should pay me to read and reply to their poorly formed arguments.

What I really wanted, and needed, was to sleep.  I’d taught late the previous night, too, and did some other stuff afterwards I probably shouldn’t have.  The end result is that when the alarm blasted in my ear at 5:30, I’d had two and a half hours sleep.  I’d still had two and a half hours sleep when I was listening to the soft spoken producer in the cozy environs of the book store, resting my eyes occasionally.

They said on the news that the explosion was so powerful it could be felt two kilometres away.  I live about two kilometres away.  But, I didn’t feel or hear a thing.  I was deep in the midst of the only two and a half hours sleep I would get.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Explosion”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    I didn’t know you were a Vancouver boy! Have a number of friends who have moved away from the freezing cold of Sask. to the West Coat. With my arthritic fingers maybe I should too.

    Heard about the arson. Very sad times.

    As for the story behind my novella/movie: It’s about an apartment building full of freaks that would make Cronenberg drool and someone from the outside world getting inside and wreaking havoc. Check it out from the library, should be a copy of RIGHTEOUS BLOOD there…

  2. paulmct Says:

    You’ve been working too hard, Cliff. You told me about 6 weeks ago to check out Elizabeth McClung’s Vancouver based short stories. Thanks, I’ll look for the stories – when I find some time for reading for pleasure. That’s something I really should do more.

    BTW, I mentioned prairie climate refugees in a post a couple weeks ago – ‘That’s Enough Snow For One Winter, Thanks’ (I think it was that one, anyway).

    So the producers who optioned/bought the rights to ‘Righteous Blood’ changed the title to ‘Kept’ for the movie?

Leave a Reply

