Why Are Women So Bitchy?

The Oscars have come and gone again.  Another red carpet parade of fabulously dressed stars, directors, producers, and other creative people running the gauntlet of media whores who jostle and compete to call them over for the privilege of asking, “Who are you wearing?”

As if that’s not bad enough, after the show the women do the obligatory ‘get the claws out’ thing and name the worst dressed women who failed to meet the required standard of perfection for such a spectacular event, as defined by a handful of European designers.  Who cares if you think she didn’t pull it off?  She got an invite to the Oscars.  Did you?  Who are you, anyway?

These women – and don’t forget our Canadian gay guy who has managed to establish himself as some kind of authoritative commentator who should be listened to, for some reason – don’t actually do anything themselves.  They aren’t designers.  But, they trash other women for wearing dresses they liked without worrying about whether the world at large would like them or even – gasp – approve!  I wonder if these ‘style commentators’ aren’t actually sounding offended at not being consulted.  After all, it’s what they do, and if people don’t think they need to consult the experts – in their magazines and style columns – they’ll have to find something real to do.

Women complain that guys don’t respect them enough or objectify them, but they should listen to themselves.  We don’t do that.  I would never dream of trashing a woman for what she wears, no matter how bad I thought she looked.  The only instance when I might have, that comes to mind at the moment, involved an obese older woman in a skirt with celullite spilling over her knee high nylons.  I couldn’t even be bothered to tell anyone about that until now, about twenty years later.

Last night the women on CTV even dug out some file photos and picked some of the worst disasters of all time.  Of course, they included Bjork and her swan dress, commenting, “What was she thinking?”  Have they ever listened to Bjork’s music?  I doubt it.  They only know of Bjork the somewhat famous person.  They don’t know or care what she sings about.  If they had listened to Bjork’s music they might have had an idea what she was thinking.

I don’t claim to be an expert on Bjork.  I haven’t heard all of her music, by any means.  But what I have heard, going way back to The Sugar Cubes, I like.  She is a true original.  She expresses what is inside her. She is an artist, not just a media personality – and certainly not a poser.  I totally got the swan.  How can you hear her pain and not get it?  If you don’t get it you haven’t heard her music, or haven’t really listened.  So, it seems women also accuse men of not listening to them, but don’t listen themselves.

I’m a guy, with a dangling thing between my legs.  I want to use it to penetrate women for carnal pleasure.  Should I really have to tell them this stuff?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “Why Are Women So Bitchy?”

  1. C. Fraser Says:

    You hit the nail on the head! It’s really a horrible, horrible tradition, and where else can people get away with that kind of behaviour? And some wonder why our younger generations are the way they are. Of course corporations are loving it, as anything that lowers a persons self-esteem means more profits in their pockets as people purchase comfort, retail.

    I too am a fan of Bjork, muck like you haven’t heard everything, but have enjoyed her music from the Sugar Cubes on…

    Great post! I think my favorite so far.

  2. paulmct Says:

    Thanks.

  3. romi41 Says:

    Dude, I agreed with you all the way, but you sealed it with “dangling thing between your legs”…haha 😉

  4. paulmct Says:

    Hi Romi, glad you enjoyed my dangling thing…

  5. Paul B. Says:

    Yes and it pays to note some of the apparently “worst dressed women” were also Oscar recipients. In my opinion they could wear a potato sack to the event but if they pick up an Oscar that is where the focus should be.

    Still have you ever noticed just how badly dressed the people “giving their opinion” can be?

    Yes women can be bitchy.. but we guys can be just as bad when we want.

    BTW – “CTV”??? = Chinese Television maybe?

    Great post.. will be back for more.

  6. paulmct Says:

    Agreed. The whole thing is so shallow. It’s supposed to be about celebrating achievement, but the media are only interested in ‘names’ and faces.

    CTV – Canadian TV. I thought you were Canadian, for some reason.

  7. romi41 Says:

    Ya Paul, are you Canadian?…’Cause I thought that was you I saw the other day, knee-deep in his vat of morning-maple-syrup….

    PS Paul (other Paul): I read a story yesterday that Quebec’s maple-syrup reserve is running dry….WHAT!!?!?!? If that actually happens, we should probably just shut down the country and call it a day (or maybe just Quebec, lol.. 😉 )

    PPS: I find CTV correspondents to be obnoxious in general, like stop smiling at me so much, you’re creeping me out …

Leave a comment